215 East 9th Street
Goddard Mansion
Traditionally known and listed in the historic registry as the Goddard Mansion, recent research has shown that the house was constructed circa 1891-94 for the Slauson family, on the corner property purchased from the Goddards, who built and lived in the home next door for 55 years, until it was razed by the descendants of George Henry Goddard, longtime Treasure on the Board of the now defunct Muhlenberg Hospital. This is the only Queen Anne and Neo-Jacobean style building in the district. The unique brick, weatherboard, and scalloped-shingle structure features leaded and stained-glass windows throughout the first and second floors, as well as a domed tower, two projecting balconies on the second and third floors, and tin and terracotta friezes along the rooflines. The wrap-around front porch showcases an arched design in the Richardsonian Romanesque revival style, complemented by double columns. Alfred T. Slauson was associated with the firm H.N. Whitney & Sons, bankers and brokers based in New York City. This residence served as a weekend retreat, where the family hosted numerous large gatherings in the third-floor ballroom and billiards room. A solid granite carriage step is located at the front curb, and the family’s carriage was stored in the stables at 151 East 4th Street, adjacent to the Plainfield train station.
