126 East 9th Street

Morgan House 

This home, built circa 1870s, was once owned by the Morgan family, of which Duncan W. Morgan was involved in real estate in New York City. The original address was 6 East 9th Street, which was changed to a triple-digit number in the early 1900s. In 1906, the Coale family purchased the house and undertook extensive restoration work on both the interior and exterior. A 1951 news article noted that the house was “downright dilapidated.” Later, the son of Mr. and Mrs. Coale married the daughter from the neighbor’s house at 132 East 9th Street, where they eventually became owners. When the family decided to sell both houses, prospective buyers were required to purchase both 126 and 132 East 9th Street together. At that time, a developer approached the realtor to misplace all other offers to purchase the two houses for a small payout. This would have resulted in both houses being demolished to make way for a massive U-shaped building on the combined lots. Aside from the restorations over the years, this house has seen almost no alterations to its exterior and can be classified as a clapboard Italianate style with a mansard tower. The home features unique wood carvings and zigzag carpentry, which contribute to its Gothic aesthetic. It is one of only three houses in Plainfield with functioning gas lighting both inside and out.